My first 100 miler

Rob,

We are on pace, says a voice in front of me. I respond with, on pace for what? He says sub 24 hour finish, Really? This is like mile 50. Mile fifty you say?

IMG_7455

Ever since a late night keg party at University of Tennessee in 1993, I have been addicted to the mountains and the trails that wonder within them.  That was when Kevan Kaderly, Jeremy Stevens, and Garrett Bently convinced me and Jeff Keim to wake up at 5am that next morning for a  backpacking trip to Big South Fork. You would think with all those AT hut journals and summit registers I would have signed one or kept a journal of my own. NOPE.  not a blog, or any other method of remembrance of an adventure. So you have been forewarned. Now would be a good time to fill that mug  with your drink of choice.

My primary love of the outdoors has been backpacking and mountaineering. For some odd reason (twins) my backpacking time dwindled and became none existent. In order to hike to killer lookouts and see cool flora and fauna; I would wake up at 3:30 am and hike up and run down the trails and be back to the house/camp by noon. In 2011 I ran my longest distance to date; a twelve mile run around Timothy lake after a backpack trip with Andy Buoni. So naturally the next logical step was to run the Portland Marathon. A 4h55 cramp fest later with Glenn Fawcett on his bike telling me to keep it up, and I was ready for my next big adventure. I stayed with the hike up/run down game for a few more years. Eventually I figured out I was the only one doing this and signed up for a 50k trail race called SOB 50k at Mt. Ashland. After taking 7h30min to run 34 miles and 5000′ of elevation; I realized real quick I was not the only trail runner in Oregon.

DSCN0454 So I was now hooked on trail running. Richard Ashbaugh convinced me to run the Go Beyond Racing Volcanic 50 in 2014. One sunny Saturday I decided to go on a training run from Marble Mountain Snow Park to the pumice fields on helens. After suffering from heat and exposure I stumbled back into the parking lot and smelled bacon. The rest is history. What I didn’t know was Go Beyond was having a training run and the Race Director/Owner was cooking up breakfast/lunch for all the runners. I met several more runners as they returned back from their run.

The week before the Volcanic 50 I volunteered for the Sherpa Challenge. Essentially volunteers carried backpacks full of water to a remote aid station for the race. I was surrounded by 5-9 season veteran ultra runners and I asked them if I could run a 100 mile race. The immediate question was “how many miles do you run a month now?” my response was um, 40-50. Every one of them tried not to laugh at me. I knew then that I wanted to run a hundred miles, but I didn’t know how.

Between 2014-2017 I raced several events. Some with success and others not so much. I had numerous setbacks, challenges, and struggles figuring out how to manage the body from mile 30-60. I endured a pulled glute muscle, torn meniscus with surgery, tarsal tunnel, plantar, pulled hamstring, Platelet rich plasma therapy shot, broken cuboid bone, bike crash, hours and hours of rehab, and countless other bumps and bruises. Why? I always felt like I could run an ultra race and compete. I would come up short due to diarrhea, or severe muscle cramps. I would come up short due to lack of training or more importantly, core strength. I continued to strive for that race where I felt satisfied with my effort and position. Still not quite there.

I finished 2016 with a pulled hamstring and a PRP shot in March 2017. This was a remarkable procedure. I was able to sit down pain free for the first time in a few years and with rehab, my hamstring was stronger than ever before.

My amazing doctor, Dr. Karl Kaluza ( Rebound Lake Oswego) has been working hard to keep me healthy. Walking in to his office with a tweak here or a limp there or a back rib poking me here, I always left feeling like a million bucks. We went into the 2017 season with the mindset to enjoy the season and be healthy for Elkhorn Crest in August. I would use high altitude mountaineering and bike commuting as a replacement for miles ran. I also incorporated a Power Yoga class from Liz Shoda at Cascade Athletic Club from March-September. I did not miss a day of training due to injury. I stayed in constant contact with Dr. Kaluza. Several different times I made key adjustments such as increased core workouts, more rubber band monster walks, bike, mountaineering, more hills, new insoles every 250 miles, new shoes every 250 miles, new socks every 100 miles and so on. I used a well organized running bag that had an array of “tools” to keep me healthy and focused at all times for all weather conditions.IMG_6579

PC:Richard Ashbaugh, summit crater Rainier

To run a 100 miles I knew I needed a crew and two people to pace me during the run. My crew would consist of Carlton Davidson and Matthew Clover. They would drive from aid station to aid station and have my race items ready to go as I came thru. They were so amazing and key to my success. They had to stay up all night in sub freezing weather and try and figure out when I would show up and then try and talk with a deranged lunatic.

IMG_7485PC Jonathan Schwab.

Yes, I always need to enjoy the my runs and the above picture is a prime example.  I do that with hamburgers and coconut water and some squirrels nut butter.

Two weeks prior to the Mountain Lakes 100, the RD sent out a notice that for the first time in race history, a sub 24 hour buckle with the year inscribed would be handed out to whom churned dirt for less than 24 hours. I casually thought this might be possible but would not think to much about it for fear of a jinx.

I found my two pacers in Calub and Ryan. Team complete. Race day nearing.

Oh yeah, why did I sign up to run 100 miles. Being out on the trails, and in the mountains is magical. The volunteers, runners, and atmosphere keep me coming back for more. I have completed a marathon, sprint triathlon, century bike ride, 20k summit in Ecuador, high points of Or, Wa, and Ca. I wanted to see if I could simply add this achievement to the list. There would be no better time to try. I had three years of base miles and plenty of vertical gain and had the mindset and experience to give it a shot.

The first training run of the year was in the early spring with an invite from Kandice Marks for “laps on Dog”. wow, I had never done that before. I showed up and met all kinds of new people. Austin Rains, Shane Darden, Arcelles Sykes to name a few. This set the tone for the year and I managed to continue the momentum all year. Thanks for that invite Kandice.

I was lucky enough to complete all my adventures and races in 2017- would that be the case for Mountain Lakes 100? I climbed the summits of Mt. Hood 11,200′, Mt. Adams, 12,276,Mt. St. Helens, Mt. Rainier 14,411′, and countless other NW Peaks. Amazing adventures to Devils Peak Lookout, Circumnavigation of Mt. Adams, Badger Mountain Challenge 50k, Elk Horn Crest 54 miler, Hood to Coast, Hagg 25k, and Happy Valley Fun run were just some of my 2017 accomplishments.

Mountain Lakes 100-September 23rd 8:00 am Ollalie Lake Resort Oregon

I knew this race would require all my attention and mental focus. I some how manage to get my body to adapt to the adventure I am attempting in regards to sleep needs, physical needs, and mental needs. I could immediately tell that my taper was going well and mentally I was putting myself in that “frame of mind”. I was only supposed to work half day on Thursday. I woke up and knew right away that I needed to be in the woods with my gear so I called in and off I went to the mountains. 2 days before the race.

Our area had been under severe air quality alerts, lots of fires in the mountains, and otherwise touch and go race start. In 7 days a lot can change.  Driving up to Peninsula campground, I had 6-8″ of snow all around at 4,960′.  I knew this meant a good sign for me. During the Friday night pasta feed, the announcement was made regarding 12-18″ of snow on the course for 20 miles. I told my crew the snow would help my overall placement but hurt my time. My pace chart was designed for 24 hours and 28 hours. I honestly had no idea and continued to stay positive and focused.

I woke up 3 hours prior to the sound of the horn. I made my normal bacon and egg pre race meal, applied my lubricant to my nipples, back, arm pits, and feet. I loaded up my two drop bags and race bag and off we went to the start.

Actually, before we even left to the start; my crew and pacers were awake and drinking coffee. I looked over at Olallie lake and saw magic happening. I summoned for the crew to walk down to the lake for an epic sunrise. Ironically, this was the only time I lost focus before or during the race. The sunrise put me into a real trance.  Carlton actually came up to me and told me it was time to go. The sunset was out of this world and the atmosphere continued to build and the sub 24 hour was still bouncing around in my head.

Dropped bags were placed by “his truly” this time. I learned that this is the most important aspect of a successful race for me and I need to handle this task. Drop bags and the material in them and ensuring the specific drop bag gets places in the right location is important. Example, if you have flashlights and some warmer clothes in your drop bag, make sure they are waiting for you at the correct location and always anticipate faster or slower pace times.  Luckily for me, I had brought an extra flashlight and extra shoes. So I had three total pairs of shoes for my race and had a flashlight waiting for me which was nice to have as a few runners did not anticipate the longer pace and thought they could make it to mile 55 in the light-that was NOT the case.

The race starts on a forest road and then single track. We hit snow about mile 3.5 and lasted until mile 12. Then webturned around and it did it all over again but this time the slush fest was on.

 

I ended up in a slower congo line and was not able to pass due to deep snow, steep drop offs and big rocks. I came into aide station 2-mile 14.3 and did not expect to see my crew. I saw my truck and heard the cow bells. The race director knew this but kept it a surprise for the racers.IMG_7532 I was already off pace by an hour. I heard Austin say, Hi Rob! It took me a second and I said hi Austin. “If I can say your name in 24 hours I will be in good shape” was all I could respond. I grabbed some peanut butter and jelly and turned around and  started heading back up 2800 foot vertical climb and 12 miles back to  Olallie lake and dry shoes. The snow became slush which became COLD. This was the part of the race, mile 15, that the race began. I made a quick decision to just run straight thru the slush and picked up 10 positions. I then determined the only way to get traction on the single track was to run up and run down. I gained another 10 positions. I ended up back at the lake in 28th position, fresh, all new clothes, shoes, and socks. Race director came over to me and told me how good I was doing and on pace for 24 even after that chaos. I was 1.5 hours off my pace chart.

From mile 26-55 I made the awesome decision to use headphones. I jammed to music for the next 7 hours all alone, no talking, simply running.  I had never been on this section of the Pacific Crest Trail. Totally better than anticipated. Aid stations-Olallie Meadows, Pin Heads, Warm Springs, Red Bluff, and finally Clackamas Ranger Station. They came fast and often. I remember stopping to take a few pictures. One in particular was the sun. I took a picture of the sunset. Knowing I would be running all night long until it rose in the sky 12 hours later.  I rolled into Clackamas in 17th place and the atmosphere was nuts. I almost cried. Knowing that I was the runner the crowd was cheering for was quite emotional. This energy forced me to stop and realize I was actually in the middle of a 100 mile run. It was slowly sinking in that I might finish my first ever 100 miler. I had lots of folks come up to me and give me high fives and hugs. Jameson Clover game me a hug every time she saw me and it gave me super powers. All the positive thoughts on emails, texts, fist bumps, high fives and well wishes helped power me thru. A few folks came up to me and ask me where their runner was. I couldn’t answer. I kept focused, picked up Ryan Clemmer and off we went to run 14 miles around Timothy Lake.

Ryan was awesome. I immediately informed him I was officially running miles that I had never ever ran before. All new territory. He said I looked great and kept me focused. Ryan would tell me my pace and encourage me when my form slacked off. The lake was cold. I stopped at every aid station and got warm, drank chicken broth, and put on a jacket. Went back out into the night and I would take the jacket off after about 5-10 minutes. This strategy worked well for 10 miles. Slowly the other racers were catching up to me. Slowly  but surely I was getting passed. I kept hearing these two gals chatting and chatting and laughing and chatting. It was Annie from Elkhorn. I somehow beat her at that race but she passed me at the damn like I was standing still. She went on to be first female! 23h38min

I finally made it to the best “damn’ aid station”. I always wondered what it looked like in person. They had a fire, tent, beer shots, and lights!.img_7469.jpgI made it back to Clackamas and went into the warming tent. Took off my shoes and socks and found my first large blister on my right toe. Carlton dried some of my clothes that got dew on them, I got changed out of my ALtra MT shoes into my Altra Lone Peak 3.5, grabbed my LedLensor flashlight  loaded ; Prior to getting in the warming tent,RD Todd told me I was on pace for sub 24. I still didn’t really know what that meant. I looked at my pace chart and I was still 1.5 hours behind sub 24.

I remember Jameson walking into the tent telling me to get out.I had my first issue of the race- We couldn’t find my glove and my immodium. I finally found both but in the process left a packet of tailwind behind and actually had another slight delay b/c I was wanting my caffeine tailwind since I was already 1.5 hours behind, it was cold, dark, and 12:30am. Matthew and Carlton took charge and got me out of there.

My crew was great and off I went to a huge cheer of the crowd! Calub was in good spirits,  he had a good nap and informed me he had a few goodies for me when I was ready. We picked up my poles  from the drop bag and we got back into a rhythm. This section of the course kicked my ass in the Mt. hood 50 miler and I was determined to get revenge. The PCT goes slightly up for 5 miles and then down for 2 but then the trails goes back up for 3 miles-this is what crushed me last time. Its runnable but somehow I walked a few years back and cost me big time. Even though I was ready for it, It was sucking me in again and I got passed here by a female and her pacer and another gentleman who was solo. We ended up playing leap frog for the next 45 miles to the finish. She was third place female 21st overall and he finished 22nd overall. But this section got me again, grrr.

I finally started running the hills and pushed hard into Red Wolf Aid station. I attempted to do the same drill as I had done around Timothy. Sit down, take off my pack, fill up my bladder, fill my bottle with hot chicken broth, dry my gloves, take off my hat, take it all in and enjoy the race. I got passed by two more folks and saw Gwen and KT again. The last time I saw them, they were needing a light. I had two but we would need to run together. I looked down and Gwen was applying lube to her feet. So I had to leave. This time they were returning their flashlights to the very nice volunteer who loaned it to them. and off they went into the night.

I would end up passing everyone in this group out on the trail. Go thru the next aid station and stay ahead of most of this group but the third place female. She was no where to be seen and Annie had already stomped the gas and she was literally gone.

I felt Calub and I were running hard thru these sections or at least trying. but we rolled into the aid station sat down and saw some new faces that were suffering, having trouble holding fluids and otherwise getting their ass kicked. The three runners past me again as I sat motionless in the chair of death.

Its now 4:00 am and somewhere deep in the dark forest. The night was amazing. I had a few rules for my pacers but one rule was anytime I had to stop and use the restroom, lights off. The sky was full of stars and lots of them. The stars will be one thing that will stick with me for a very long time. I have seen many a star-but the light pollution was almost zero. The night was cold and frost and ice were now visible in the light. Miles are not coming very fast. I had a 7.2 mile section and a 7.5 mile or there about section. These were tough. I had a few climbs left. But one in particular will stay with me for a long time. The time was about 6:15am. I was trying to compute my remaining miles with a gps that was not tracking perfectly. I was in the middle of a climb and looked to my right and saw morning alpine glow off of a snow covered perfectly white-Mt. Hood. We had not seen hood all day due to clouds. I did some math. My math said I had made up 1.5 hours and I was exactly on pace for 24 hours but I needed to make up another 30 minutes right now in this segment. So Calub and I started running uphill and then a downhill section came. I passed Hansie Wong for the final time. She was the third place female. Amazing to watch her and her pacer. They never stopped at an aid station longer than 1 minute at most. Even in the coldest of the night. She stayed with  me on the descent for quite a while. Fun time of the race for sure. I made some comment and the pacer yelled back “we will pass you at the aid station”. which made me laugh b/c that had been the case for the last 60 miles. My only response back: “you need to come up with a different plan b/c I am not stopping. Turn and burn at Ollallie for me”. She laughed and off we went into the woods.

I looked at my pace chart again. I needed to be at Olallie meadows at 7:20 . this would allow me 40 minutes to run 3.6 miles in 800 feet. The sun was out, I was feeling chipper, Calub was Calub. Life was good. The last aid station had 5 large blow downs to navigate. Boy, nothing like jazzercise at mile 97 of an ultra trail mountain race. I showed my bib and turned around and off I went-7:20am. Caleb stayed behind to fill up a bottle. He finally showed up with my new favorite weapon: Chicken broth. I took my final swig and kept running. I ran as hard as I could run. I saw a massive mountain in front of me. I told Caleb that it was impossible to run so I walked it. I kept running some more. I would now start to see Caleb to my right acting like he was passing me. I knew what he was doing and it worked. In hind site, he needed to be screaming at me and only a few friends know me that well to pull that off but he still should of. Time was going by super fast. I could not hear the finish line b/c we were tucked away behind a mountain.

I don’t know much about 100 mile trail races. I do know enough that 24 hours is the secret benchmark for badass status. Translation-you ran 100 miles. This year we had snow and super cold conditions and it was my first attempt. I didn’t expect to be “racing”. I had teased with racing in my last Ultra. But that was more about not cramping up and holding on. This time I felt like I was “racing”. My body had never reacted this way in a race. I kept pushing hard. I kept running downhills super fast and my muscles never cramped.. It was odd. I felt certain I could make it. The new sub 24 hour buckle, my first 100 miler, Ollalie Lake. Olallie lake has always been special to me. I first came to OllalieIMG_7530IMG_7423as a summer intern in 1995. Kent Witherspoon and I had a blast. Rand Hopkins took us here and oddly enough up to Horseshoe Lake exactly where the race went. Kent passed away a few years back and every time I suffered, I   remembered Kent and his positive attitude and  it picked me back up.

I never considered that the race elapsed time was from when the gun went off. I should have switched data screens on my watch ( I used a battery pack to charge my watch running around the lake) and checked total time. Its sub 24 from when the gun went off. But my brain was done. My body was shutting down. My adrenaline was wearing off. 7:52 am 1/2 mile to go. I think?

Why do I care about a silver buckle. Dude, your finishing your first ever 100 miler. No idea why. hmm.. why did I just run 100.5 miles to this point? still trying to figure that out. back to the race.

I am running or what feels like running and my watch hits 8:00 am. I don’t see the road and I don’t see or hear people. I tell Calub I can’t. I can’t. I can’t do it. I had never used those words all year. He says I can. I walk some more.(like 45 seconds). I see the road. I start to run. I see my daughter and crew. I see my neighbor Shawn Peterson who will drive me home.  As with my very first ultra marathon, Gioia runs with me across the finish. I made it. I did it. 24 hours and 4 minutes. I finished. I put one foot in front of the other.  TOP 20.

Some crazy stat I heard was roughly 165 runners toed the starting line and 81 Did not finish(DNF). But I would never have attempted, finished, or even ended up back at home if it weren’t  for my friends, family, neighbors, training partners, and countless others who ran with me, shopped with me, climbed with me, drove with me, complained with me, cried with me, yelled at me, swore at me, told me to slow down, told me to shut up, told me to wait up, and most importantly allowed me to join in their fun: THANK YOU. To my co-workers: interrupting the staff meeting with a round of applause was amazing. From the bottom of my heart-THANK YOU ALL.

 

Data: 100.8 miles 12,000′ feet 24h4min 20th/165

Nutrition: Used tailwind (fluids that contained my calories) and peanut butter and jelly; chicken broth.

results

strava data

IMG_7533

total miles ran 2017: 1,007 miles; 160,974′ vertical feet climbed; 229 total time hours (this does not include rehab, mountain climbing, road biking nor commuting)

 

P.S. Todd and Renee are the two best race directors in the country. I highly recommend their races. You will be inspired to reach your goals and give back to the trail community.

Home

9 thoughts on “My first 100 miler

  1. Thanks for the write up. It was exciting to see you successfully running your race and hearing of your finish. Great job in tough conditions! What’s you next hundred?!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment